Modiphius.com  |  Modiphius Shop

The spending of momentum

Every actual play i’ve seen allows pool momentum to be spent when attacking in combat, which is wrong.
Accoding to RAW, to my understanding, momentum is played forward. Pool momentum adds d20s for the skill test and any momentum gained from that test can then be spent on “momentum spends in combat”.

Am I wrong in my understanding?

Does the GM gain a Doom when players spend pool momentum?

My understanding is this.

An attack is a Standard Action just like any skill test. Therefore, Momentum may be used to buy bonus d20s on the test. It’s no different than any other skill test. In fact, attacks use Skills (i.e., Melee, Ranged). The Difficulty for an attack is a minimum of D1.

Momentum generated from an attack can be spent either immediately or banked to the Pool, just like any other Skill Test.

Doom is not generated from players using Momentum. The two piles are not related at all, though players can “pay Doom” to the GM for bonus dice on Skill Tests (usually if they don’t have Momentum to spend).

Page 101

"Some Momentum spends are not tied to a specific test
and can be used freely as soon as they are required, spending
points directly from the group’s Momentum pool rather
than waiting for a successful skill test. These spends are
referred to as Immediate…

…During any successful skill test, a character may spend
Momentum saved in the group Momentum pool instead of
or in addition to any points generated from the successful
skill test itself, spending from either or both as desired."

Do you mean this on page 118

“Momentum is a key tactical resource during Action Scenes.
When a character generates Momentum in an action scene,
numerous options are available by which the character
can overcome enemies, empower allies, and bolster the
effectiveness of actions.”

I think that’s more explanation than an actual rule. The rule book doesn’t differentiate between actual rules and explanation or fluff though so it’s hard to tell.

I would certainly play you can use group Momentum for in combat.

They do not gain Doom when you spend group Momentum. What rule gives you that idea?

The momentum pool can be used for anything that a player might spend momentum on. This is by design to encourage the players to work together.

Also, no. The GM does not gain momentum when the players spend momentum. However, players are able to give the GM doom in place of momentum if there is not enough available.