Hi. I’m making my way through the Star Trek Adventures Core Rulebook, and I have a question about the Combat Momentum Spend table. Can those spends be made using Momentum from the group Momentum pool, or are they limited to Momentum generated from the Task (or, if they are Immediate Spends, from the Threat Pool)? Upon first reading, I thought it was the former, but upon re-reading the Combat section, I now think it is the later.
Generally speaking, I do not think it really matters where it is drawn from. It can either come from the already-generated momentum in the pool, or momentum generated from the task, or from giving the GM threat.
Any of those three options work as far as the combat momentum spends go (unless, for example, the spend must be made before any rolls like adding extra D20s to the task roll.)
Immediate Momentum spends only come from the group pool or by paying Threat.
Non-Immediate Momentum spends require a successful Task and can come from the Momentum generated on that Task or the group pool.
Technically correct. In other 2d20 games such as Conan the rules specifically state that Bonus Momentum does not go in the pool. This is not explicitly stated in the STA rules. Some Talents say “this Bonus Momentum cannot be saved…” or more general “Bonus Momentum cannot be saved…”
So it is not 100% clear, but I use a house rule that no Bonus Momentum can be saved in the pool.
Ok, It has been a while since I read those specific rules, so I guess I forgot about that. Not sure I like that rule, though. Will test it out and see how my players feel about it, and might toss that rule in our game.