Can someone help me out please? I have always interpreted the rules concerning damage to mean that one’s total Vigor applies to each rank of Wound suffered. So for example, if you have 12 Vigor and from various attacks it gets reduced to 0, you suffer a Wound; then you have another 12 Vigor to go through before you suffer another Wound? Is this right, or does Vigor stay at 0, meaning that the merest nick can thus cause another Wound?
No. You only have ONE Vigor track. If that is down to 0, then that’s it.
Character with Brawn 9 and Resistance 2 = 11 Vigor. Armor soak of 1 in all locations.
First hit for 4 damage, -1 due to Armor soak = 3 damage. That gets deducted from the Vigor track, which is now 11 - 3 = 8.
No wounds, Vigor currently at 8.
Second hit for 7 damage, -1 due to Armor soak = 6 damage. That gets deducted from the current Vigor track of 8: 8 - 6 = 2. AND: as this was 5 or more damage from a single hit, the character gets 1 Wound.
1 Wound, Vigor currently at 2.
Third hit for 5 damage, -1 due to Armor soak = 4 damage. Deducting that from the current Vigor of 2: 2 - 4 = 0 (you cannot have negative Vigor, if the Vigor track drops to 0, then it stays at 0). AND: as this is damage that caused your Vigor track to drop to 0, the character gets another Wound.
2 Wounds, Vigor currently at 0.
Fourth hit for 6 damage, -1 due to Armor soak = 5 damage. Vigor is already at 0, so it cannot sink lower than that. AND: for receiving at least 1 point of damage, while your Vigor track is at 0 the character gets 1 Wound, AND for receiving 5 or more damage in a single hit, the character gets another Wound.
4 Wounds, Vigor currently at 0.
The character is nearly incapacitated and can only perform an Action or Reaction by paying a Fortune point.
Thanks, that was very helpful. I’ve been running it completely wrongly in my games!