Sacrificial Armor mechanics with 2 wounds after drop to 0 vigor

During the last session a character suffered Vigor damage that was more than 5 and this dropped him to 0 vigor. Those are 2 wounds as per the rules. The paragraph related to sacrificing armor/shield to avoid a wound states:

“Once per scene, whenever a character suffers a Wound, in order to ignore the Wound the character may choose to sacrifice either the Armor Soak from the location struck, or a shield, assuming it is being used. The damage breaks the armor or shield, instead of inflicting the Wound.”

Does sacrificing the armor negate the extra wound?

My reading of that is it prevents one of the two wounds.