gallowsCalibrator’s Custom Cards and Miniatures

So another thread got me thinking if it was possible to whip up a custom card from scratch. I’m not a hundred percent happy with the results. I cant get any of the correct fonts and only could manage half the assets being as clear as i like. Still what do you all think? Any thoughts on what the fonts are and where to find them? Tips or tricks for Photoshop/Gimp? What cards do you want to see next?

Its my first try at Sculpty too so forgive the roughness i didn’t know you could smooth it with Alcohol till after i baked it and this stuff doesn’t take well to sanding.

Card art by wandrevieira1994

5 Likes

I’m of mixed feelings when I look at this, . . . On the one hand, I’m a purist and this screams of blasphemy. On the other, it’s pretty awesome.

Seriously though, love it. It looks great.

4 Likes

Hahahaha, that is amazing! :laughing:

2 Likes

I haven’t tried using sculpty myself, but it looks like you’ve done a good job!

If you’re after something that can be sanded, milliput doesn’t need to be baked and can be sanded quite well once hard. I’ve found mixing it with greenstuff creates a really good material for sculpting minis, with both the hardness and ability to be sanded of the milliput, as well as the greenstuff’s ability to take and hold fine details. If you try it make sure to mix each component separately first though (ie, mix together the two parts of the greenstuff, mix together the two parts of the milliput, and then mix the greenstuff and milliput together) :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Ooooh, Littlepip. Nice!
Are you planning on making Velvet Remedy, Calamity, SteelHooves, Xenith and Pyrelight as well?
Maybe even Blackjack and her crew?
Or Puppysmiles? :smiley:

I have minis for Puppysmiles, Ensign Sidekick and Whisper/Psychoshy on my shelf. Painted those long before F:WW came out, but I can use them here now. :slight_smile:

1 Like