Firstimer Resin Questions

So I just placed an order for the three core boxes, after them being out of stock for ages on Miniaturemarket.com. I have plenty of experience with preassembled plastic pieces, and some with assembling plastic (Star Wars Legion).

I know these will have to be cut from the sprue, and have purchased the Army Painter tool to do so. I wanted to ask if there were any other differences or expectations I should have when it comes to putting them together and painting them?

I guess most importantly, is superglue going to be ok, or do I need something else?

Am I correct in assuming that it’s still the same process of soapy bath, scrub with toothbrush, spray prime, and paint as usual? Like with plastic? (To be honest I have recently begun skipping the bath/scrub steps with no issues, but understand it may be more important with resin)

Thanks in advance for any tips, tricks, and advice you all can offer.

1 Like

Superglue is fine.
Wash & scrub might be necessary in some cases, but most times it is not.

The main difference though is this: When trimming flash and sanding down mold lines, I’d recommend doing so in a well-ventilated area - or preferably outside. The fine resin dust you create while sanding the minis should not be inhaled.

2 Likes

In many cases, the hobby section of your local store that carries a lot of the tools you might need at a better price than most of the big name hobby brands.

As for putting models together, two things that I’ll sear by: The first, Gel style superglue. It helps to keep it where you need it and cuts down on mess just a little bit. It also will hold smaller pieces in place without as much need to hold it as long. The second is an assembly handle, which is arguably one of the best purchases I’ve ever made for the hobby. It can be used to hold pieces in place while they dry which is VERY nice, but they also are good for painting as they give you a bit more control over how and where to paint.