Hi, I’ll try and assist in anticipation of an official response:
I would say that the Card’s rules (which have also already been through a round of errata to move the Block symbol to the Strength stat) take precedence; the example text should be taken as a hypothetical situation. It could be an actual error however.
The numbers on the Poison Tokens is supposed to reflect the ‘dosage’ (as per the token Index); it’s not explicitly stated what this means but the intent is that this number reflects the amount of any given respective poison ‘damage’ caused by that token. So the Poison token with a 2, would denote that the afflicted model suffers 2 (health/magicka/stamina) ‘damage’ at the start of their activation whilst they still have that token. You only put a single unnumbered token (of the poison type) on each Poison token to denote which type of Reserve is being affected (e.g. for a Magicka Poison 2 effect, you would place the Poison token with the 2 on the affected model’s card, then put a single unnumbered blue token on there to denote that Magicka is the Poison type). Hopefully that makes sense but the wording on the Poison rules in general could be a bit more explicit (and have an actual example in the book; possibly gets addressed in the revised version). It probably doesn’t help that the image used next to the Poison rules has a (1) Health token shown, when it should just be blank.
Shouts which are also attacks, I believe, operate the same as spells (they’re stated as being exactly the same as Spells on pg.50) so they can’t be performed in the same activation as another attack.
Thank you, that is very helpful. One further question, though. If a character is damaged by two health poison 1 effects (just as an example) before their activation, do they stack to become a poison 2 token, are they left just as two poison 1 tokens (perhaps it doesnt matter), is it impossible to be poisoned a second time until the first is removed, or maybe the second replaces the first?
Wanted to chime in here, but to your third remark:
On page 50 it says that “If a model can perform the Shout Action, it will be listed on its Character Card.” Under Actions on page 15, however, it does not list a “Shout Action”, but I don’t think it would fall under the attacks action personally. I have always considered shouts as special actions, which I thought I had read, but could not find to confirm, so I could have just moved it over there in my head, but the shout Elemental Fury says “Perform a Melee Attack as a Free Action, even if this model has already attacked.”
Personally, it wouldn’t make sense to state that, unless attacks and shouts are different actions. Maybe they just forgot to add the Shout Action to page 15, or it is supposed to be considered a Special Action? Page 74, under the Dragon Shouts keyword doesn’t really explain it, either.
I only recently played with shouts, so the third point of yours stuck out to me, and that was the only thing I wanted to bring up. I am curious as to what you might think, or if any of the mods can clear this up.
I think that the problem here is they did not match the action needed to use the Shout with the targeting type, to have a difference between the actions. The Spells use an Special action if they are not attacks, or the Attack action if they are (so it depends of the targeting types).
Shouts are the same, but the problem is they wrote that you need always an Special action to perform them, without looking at the targeting type (Shouts have targeting types too) when they are cast, so there is a mismatch between the action they use and the actual targeting type.
But it is just the wording used, you know the symbol wich belongs to certain targeting type, so you need to think if that symbol is Ranged/Melee/Hybrid Attack, then you would need to use an Attack action (choosing between Melee or Ranged), and not an Special action.
This way, it would be clearer, so people could use, in this case, the rule about using the same Action twice, so they could not think they can use a Shout and a Normal Attack because of the fact of being different Action types.
That’s fair; they’re still just listed as Special Actions so, strictly speaking they could be taken as well ‘regular attacks’ as it’s currently worded. Some of the problem is that we’re going through 2 layers of ‘counts as’ (i.e. Shout Attacks are similar to Spells but Spell Attacks count as ‘regular’ Attacks of the same type) and only one of those specifies how that works in relation to the action type.
Could just be one for an FAQ but worth submitting to the revised rules update feedback.
Just to follow up on this as it was brought up elsewhere on this forum; if a Shout is resolved as per an Attack Action then it does count as that model having performed an Attack action for their activation and they can’t do another (obviously Elemental Fury is the exception to that because that’s the whole point of it).
Do you know where in the forums it was discussed about attack shouts using the attack action? I would like to check it out.
I think that would make sense, but I had never considered it using your only attack action, rather it being its own thing, much like a special action, no matter the shout. However, I rarely use shouts, only because I find other weapons or spells more favourable, but that is just a personal preference.
Thanks for the help, guys. I hope I remember this next time I play with shouts, and plan my gear accordingly.
A good rule of thumb is to check the targeting type. If something has a Melee, Ranged or Hybrid Targeting type - it’s an attack and using it is considered to be using an Attack Action, even when activating it is a Special Action. This is true for Spells and Shouts.
CTA cards from Skyrim The Adventure Game:
All of the “ ____ Warrior - Sheathed Blade” hero cards list Path of Might except the Redguard Warrior who is Path of Shadow, despite having very similar stats to the others. Is this an error?
Serana - Daughter of Coldharbour:
The text for Kindred Necromancer says “place one Reanimated Corpse […]”, but later the same rule says to “place the Upkeep token on the Revenant’s card”. Seeing as there are Follower cards for each, which type of summoned creature is the correct one to use?
Umana’s special ability references Sulla Trebatius’ own special abilty but refers to it as “Insane Insight” which does not exist, Sulla’s ability that should be referenced is actually called “Unpredictable Behaviour”.
The printable “Vampiric Drain” spell card lists the associated skill as Destruction, yet every other “Blood Magic Spell - ____” card has Blood Magic as the associated skill. Is the difference on Vampiric Drain intentional?
We renamed the Special ability on Sulla due to sensitivity concerns but obviously missed it on Umana She obviously views his unpredictable behaviour in a much less compassionate light.
Just noticed, Bound Battleaxe incorrectly marks the Skill used specifically for the bound weapon as One-Handed/Strength Attribute, when it should be Two-Handed/Strength Attribute.
Stendarr’s Aura has Illusion as the associated Skill, is this intentional or should the Skill be Restoration, considering its similarity to Turn Undead and similar?
The Familiar: Summoned Creature one-sided card lists the Familiar’s race as Daedra, but nothing on the card indicates or implies its elemental subtype. Are Daedra models then allowed to not have an elemental subtype at all? (Thematically that makes sense, but the rulebook wording seems to imply that they all fall into the main three.)
It’s intentional. Not all Daedra have elemental subtypes. The most common Daedra in Skyrim are elemental - Frost Atronach, Flame Atronach etc… but they don’t HAVE to be. The rules as written in the core book are to cover those types, so if there is no element type associated with it it has the basic Daedra rules (not being affected by Illusion etc).
Followers do have a Stamina resource pool (and Magicka for that matter).
Just note that some of the smaller profile cards are double sided with the Follower version on one face and Adversary version on the reverse; if you’re seeing a profile without Stamina/Magicka pools then it’s more than likely the Adversary side you’re looking at.
As JimmyW has said, you may be looking at the Adversary version. Als well as the lack of Stamina, you can check he bottom left of the card to see if it has the Adversary Minion, Elite or Master skulls symbol.
Not all cards have a Follower version, though. Draugr (outside of Print and Play versions), Beasts and Dwemer, for instance, are Adversary only.