Questions about Rules

That was clarified (in this thread, a few posts further above).

2 Likes

Thank you kindly! I tried to find a reply but the closest I found was a post by BloodyMalth from May '20. I must’ve missed the later reply!

I’m not sure this answers my second question though (or maybe I don’t get the response) - is a spread of 4/4/4/3 for four focuses possible, or do we need to account for the ‘1’?

This reference to Discord - is there any server where it’s easier to ask questions for quick feedback with regards to the Dishonored ttrpg? :slight_smile:

No, as that would mean a total of 15 points.
You get 11 points for your 4 Focus fields.
In the “Putting it all together” step, you get another Focus at 2 OR two existing Focusses get a +1 each.
That makes for a total of 11+2=13 ranks of Focus for a starting character.

Yes, you must “pay” for the default rank of 1.
The 11 points for fields of Focus are the final ranks, not “additional” ranks. And as a Focus needs to have a minimum rank of 2, you can distribute them at most as: 5, 2, 2, 2.
The “Putting it all together” step allows you to choose an additional, fifth Focus at rank 2 OR +1 to two of your existing Focusses. Choosing the latter option, you get 5, 3, 3, 2.

If your initial spread was 4, 3, 2, 2, and if you choose to add +1 to two Focusses in the final step, you would get 4, 4, 3, 2.
For a starting character you cannot achieve 4, 4, 4, 3.

2 Likes

I searched the topic but did not find an answer, so here’s my question:

As an example, Blood Briar requires an action to cast, while Bend Time gives you two actions on your turn, which means that it should not cost an action. At the same time, Blink states that it does not require an action, which is not specified for Far Reach.

So, should a power cost an action only if its description says that it should, or do all powers cost an action unless otherwise specified, as with Blink? Thanks in advance!

Hello everyone!

Hope it’s not too late to post something in this thread.

So I got a question, sorry if the answer is obvious but I’m very new to this : about the momentum, I feel like sometimes you can spend two points to create a truth AFTER doing a test, and sometimes I feel like you just have to spend two points to create, withdraw or modify a truth, without doing any previous test. Is there special contexts / conditions where you don’t need to roll dices before creating a truth with momentum? Or do you always have to make a test before? This is the one rule I have troubles to understand, creating truths with momentum.

Lastly, I would like to thank infinitely the Modiphius team for this work, the book is amazing. And this is a victory, none of my five players and I had ever played a RPG before, we were just huge fans of the Dishonored saga, and now we are having a blast, my players are slowly becoming a very dangerous gang in Dunwall, so thank you for making us discover this world!

(sorry for the non perfect English)

Have a great game!

2 Likes

As I got an answer from @Modiphius-Nathan on the Discord server, I am reporting it here, thanks a lot!

"It depends very much on the Truth being created/changed/removed - a well-lit room can be turned into a dark room just by turning off a lamp (not likely to require a test), but other changes to the environment might take more effort.

The baseline assumption is that if you’re specifically trying to create a truth that’ll have a big effect on the scene, it’ll be a Skill Test with a Difficulty of 2, or spending 2 Momentum after a test.

If the test is specifically to create a truth (that is, that’s the intended outcome), succeeding at the test gets you the truth. If you’re taking another action, and you want to create a truth as well, that costs 2 Momentum - it’s an added effect, improving the outcome of your action. The difficulty or Momentum cost can be adjusted by the GM if the impact/scale of the truth is particularly big or particularly small."

1 Like