Questions about Rules

Ah ok, that explains it.
Thanks!

“Using Chaos” on the top of page 28 says that the GM can use 2 Chaos to prevent the players from creating a truth as a result of an NPC’s complication. However, I cannot find the rule that allows PCs to create a truth as the result of an NPC’s complication (though it is certainly implied). I like the idea, and would like to be able to reference it in the rulebook. Could someone point me in the right direction? Thanks, Casey

Am I correct in assuming that the line on page 80

You can benefit from up to 3 bonecharms at a time.

is incorrect, since page 102 reads

You may gain the power from a number of bonecharms equal to your Void Point
maximum at any time

Hello,

I have a couple of questions, I have looked at the previous ones to make sure I’m not posting duplicates but if I do I apologize in advance:

Page 270, Delilah Copperspoon has the power “Arcane Bond” listed in her stats - that power is not described anywhere, not in the Void chapter nor in her own stats block (now, having played the videogames I can kinda make up my own version of it, but it’s baffling that there’s no mention of it ANYWHERE)

Page 231 and onwards, Minor NPCs are described as having “up to two focuses” and “5 points to divide between those focuses” - none of the minor NPCs listed after that page follow that rule, though. Same goes for most Notable NPCs.

Page 281: “The Oil Trail is an adventure set after the events of the Morleyan Insurrection, in the year 1827, in the city of Dunwall”, this is the first line of the adventure. But the Morleyan Insurrection happened between 1801 and 1802, aka 25 years before; the characters are supposed to have taken part to the insurrection, so they should have been more than just kids at the time, but the start of the adventure is them being imprisoned for the crime of taking part of the insurrection… 25 years before? So where were they kept in those 25 years?
The whole adventure, though, assumes that the war has just happened and that Morleyan folks are struggling to survive the immediate post-war (see page 291, in particular the description of Marika Moller). In short, this adventure feels like it contradicts the timeline a lot. I assume 1827 was chosen just so that the whale oil was already part of everyday life in Dunwall, but then why use the Morleyan Insurrection as the background?

It was in an earlier draft of the rules, but was cut for space reasons. On an NPC, it wouldn’t do a great deal anyway (for a PC marked by the Outsider, it would be a means of giving other PCs in your group, and even NPC followers, powers; you don’t need to track that as closely for an NPC).

So, you can treat it as a note that Delilah is the source of the other Brigmore Witches’ (and her other followers’) powers.

The NPC creation guidelines are not hard-and-fast rules, and do not have to be strictly obeyed. They’re a baseline, a starting point, for building your own NPCs.

Can we expect a new revision of the PDF, at some point, with at least a brief description of it somewhere in the book? Otherwise if someone hasn’t played Knife of Dunwall or Brigmore Witches (as that power is mentioned only in those DLCs) they’ll have no idea at all of what “arcane bond” means.

One more question: page 80, on how to spend XP, it says that with 10 XP one can buy another talent from his/her archetype, or 15 to buy a talent from another archetype; what about talents from Outlooks? do they cost 10 XP if they’re from the character’s Outlook and 15 from other outlooks, or do they all cost 15 xp? Or is it that Outlook talents can only purchased at character creation and not with XP?

Talents from your own Archetype or Outlook are 10xp each. Talents from other Archetypes or Outlooks are 15xp.

Clear contradiction in the book, but that is probably due to the initial VP maximum being 3 (p.28), which makes both parts correct. As a GM, I will adopt the rule from 106.

In preparing for our Dishonored game this Friday, we stumbled over the question, how many ranks of Focus a character is supposed to have after character creation.
Via Discord, @Modiphius-Nathan cleared things up. I summarize what I learned here, to add to the collection of Dishonored Q&A.

In the updated version of the Dishonored core rules (which includes the errata), a character gets
four Focus fields and 11 points to distribute. Those points are the total ranks the character has in their four Focus fields. A Focus needs to have a minimum rank of 2, and may have a maximum rank of 5.
In the “Putting it all together” chapter, the character gets the choice of either adding +1 to two already existing Focus fields, or gaining a new, fifth Focus at rank 2.

(In the old version you only got two Focus fields and 8 points to distribute for your Archetype.)

Hello, I’m sorry if this was already asked, however, I could not find it.

How exactly are surprise attacks treated? I read in the book that most enemies are instantly defeated from a stealth attack. Is it up to me, as a game master, to determine if an attack outright defeats an enemy, or have I missed any rule that specifies when an attack should be treated as a one-shot?

Clarification would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

As a rule of thumb, any successful attack against a target who is unaware of their attacker is instantly defeated. A complication - either rolled on the attack, or from the GM spending 2 Chaos, is sufficient justification to have that attack not instantly defeat the target, and instead mark off stress on their defeat track (they’re tougher than they looked, they noticed the attack a split-second before it landed, the attack went slightly awry, the shot lodged in a cigarette case, or something like that).

1 Like

Thanks for the reply, I’ll keep it in mind! I have another question.

The rules state that only 1 Void Point may be spent per scene per player. Does this mean a player must choose only of the options re-roll, setting a d20 to a 1, Talents that cost a Void Point, or a check that somehow involves one of their Truths, or are they allowed to, as an example, use Reckless Drive to roll 5 d20s and then reroll them with a Void point?

The limit applies to any way that would spend a Void Point, whether for a normal option, or for a benefit from a talent.

That’s separate from effects which grant you or cause you to gain a Void Point, such as invoking a truth.

1 Like

May I ask, why this limit?

In Conan you can spend as many Fortune points as you have available per scene.
They are already a rare resource, so there is no “abundance” so that the players will spend them on every action.
But especially during action scenes, where there is an existential threat to the characters, being able to only spend a single Void point is quite a harsh limit.
That is, why I’m interested in the reason for this more restricted rule.

1 Like

Another two questions:

  1. Blink Void Power: It says in the rules that it does not require an action and can be used at any time. Is there any limit to its use, other than having available mana? For example, is it limited to once per turn, regardless of it being your turn or someone else’s?

  2. Outlooks: From the way outlooks are presented, players may only choose one talent from a given outlook at character creation and may not purchase any with experience. Is this correct, or is a player able to pay experience later on to get any other outlook talents?

Thanks in advance.

Official clarification:

1 Like

Hi, sorry that I’m repeating myself, but I did not get an answer to my question about Blink and it appears it hasn’t been discussed yet, so I believe it would benefit everyone if this question does get answered.

Blink should be usable only once per turn. In an older draft with slightly more detailed action rules, it was equivalent to taking a move, if that helps adjudicate things.

1 Like

Hi,

Another question re: focuses. Page 63 declares that most new Player Characters start with two focuses, but all archetypes give four focuses. Which one is it?

Also, the 11 points spent on these four focuses: do they start at 1? As in, would you spend the first point when spending these 11 points? So four focuses at for example 4, 4, 4, 3 = 11 points or 15 points?

1 Like