Possibilities for Character Development

Hey there!
So far I have no experience with 2D20 systems. I like the way how it combines “talents” and “attributes” together, but so far I have very few actual information about the Dune system. I am waiting to buy a copy when its out.
So far, I have experience in D&D 5e, Das Schwarze Auge (The Black Eye), Call of Cthulhu (Normal and Pulp), Shadowrun 3, Traveller and a few others.

My question would be how much room for improvement is there for an existing character? I listened to the Mod-Con Vids, and a big part seems to be the development of their own house for a group of players.
Is there something like a “higher level” character with more opporunities to use skills and probably some new gadgeds?

I hope this is not a stupid question…

No such thing as a stupid question here.

We haven’t seen the full character creation rules yet, including any advancement rules but I expect it will be similar to Star Trek Adventures.

In that any advancement is tied to milestones, key points where your character has pushed themselves beyond or been in serious danger (challenging values, taking lethal damage etc…)
It is generally a very slow process when compared to D&D or similar. But then your characters start off being more competent than a 1st lvl character in other systems.

One area they may give more options for is in development of your House Major.
This seems to have lot wider range than your characters, but with the caveat that the more powerful your House becomes the more powerful their enemies becomes as well.

1 Like

Thank you for your answere! Sounds interesting, I hope there is soon some more information on that front. I guess we know more when it finally arrives.
I enjoy systems like CoC where a more experienced character is definitifly more competent, but still “lives” in the same world like all the other characters. A lvl 1 D&D character has 10ish hp, and up to 250 in the end. Not the same world.