People who have ongoing campaigns - Thoughts on gameplay, character creation, ect?

I have been in a campaign for about 15 sessions now. This is my first time ever playing a 2D20 system, but I have been playing tabletop for years. I, personally really like the system in tandem with the setting. It doesn’t feel like the same way that say D&D does, how once you hit a certain level you can do whatever.
I think it adds a slightly more realistic feel, which matches the vibe of Dunwall. [Always at least a little scared about death]

I also really like the system of character creation and XP. My party has a Guide, An Assassin and a Miscreant. We each can handle ourselves but have abilities that set us apart. Its not Hyper-specialized, like we can all fist fight but my Miscreant is better at it or we can all sneak but the Assassin is better at it. I also like how the XP advancement system is not based on level but like a spending system where you can slowly advance your character rather than having a ton of new stuff all at once. I think its just nice to be able to advance you character at least once every 2-3 sessions but it also helps with story, immersion and feel of the game.

I really just wanna hear what others think, cause this game has really revived my love for the dishonored series and I wanna start a conversation.

1 Like

I’m not in a Dishonored game, but I had a similar experience with Mutant Chronicles earlier this year. I am similarly pleased with how 2d20 lets characters be dynamically different with proper application of talents, traits, and truths.

I think Dishonored is the most elegant version of these rules and after more than 20 years of struggling with power gamers and murder hobos, ive found a system that doesn’t reward them but nurtures natrative experiences instead.

2 Likes