New to the system Necromancer

As the title states im new to the system. I’ve played D&D and im fairly familiar with the playstyle and i do enjoy this system that Conan is using.

Here’s the thing though. Im not sure if it’s the GM’s interpretation of my abilities as i use them or if they are really underwhelming when considering the cost of using them. My raised dead are being raised as lumbering undead when im thinking it would be moreso like some Jason and the argonauts type of skeletons. Also when you look at the sorcerer’s ability to raise it directs you to a template of a skeleton with a weaponset/armor Do these get magically added somehow or does my skeleton come into existance with nothing but what happens to be near him?

You are just using the core rule book and not the Book of Skelos, right?

The way I read it is that you summon a number of minion or toughened skeletons (depending upon momentum spent) that are defined in the monster section of the book. Now while not clear, I would rule that you must have bodies to raise, or be at a spot where there would be bodies such as a graveyard or site of an ancient battle. What the skeletons would come with (gear) would depend upon what they actually have. So if raised on a battle field they would have rusty weapons and shields, maybe even armor. If raised from a slain opponent, then whatever that opponent had. Even if they had nothing they are still scary and can use fear and their threaten attack.

Their true form (skeletons or zombies) would depend upon the state of the body, but the stats would be the same. It would just be flavor.