Homebrew - legality and ethics?

Hello! So to put my query in context I’m fairly new to tabletop RPG’s (I actually just got started with one of my friends campaign recently - and that’s pretty much my first ever really) so I haven’t a strong grounding in understanding of the norms and customs of TTRPG’s though I would very much like to get more involved - especially now there’s an official fallout version, which makes possible so much I’ve wanted (and which wasn’t really satisfied with FO76) for so long!

So anyways I guess the title kind of states my concerns, I really just want to be able to understand whats considered acceptable as far as homebrew stuff goes so I can be sure I’m doing right by other people - especially modifius and bethesda - I of course don’t intend to be making any kind of money or any such crazy thing as that, the IP belongs to someone else and I completely respect that.