Focuses - best practices?

Hello!

I have been playing (a)D&D and Paizo´s Pathfinder for the last two decades and as a fan of the Homeworld franchise I went for the Homeworld: Fleet Command board game and also bought a copy of the HW:Revelations 2D20 RPG.

My plan is to create a cross-play between the HW board game and the rpg and after the first gaming-sessions I do like the 2D20 system very much.

But I have a question about the focuses, which tie in with the skills of the player characters: The rulebook doesn´t give much information on how to create focuses (advice for naming focuses and describing focuses…) at all… Did I overlook some passage in the book?

So how do you handle this specific aspect of the game…?

Edit: Are there good references to other 2D20 games and how this mechanic is handled there…?

For examples, have a look at character creation. Steps 3, 4, and 6 grant Focuses and provide examples. They’re a bit scattered around the chapter, but they’re there. Also, have a look at NPC generation and the example NPCs for more examples.

A good rule of thumb is to have focuses be one or two word “fields of expertise”, either as nouns (“higher math”) or gerunds (“woodworking”). You may use job titles or fields of study. Try sentences beginning with “the character is good at (…)”, the brackets leaving space for the focus.

Thank you for your answer!

You seem to confirm my impression, that the information about focuses contained in the core rulebook is a bit scattered throughout different chapters. As a 2D20 newbie, I would have preferred a compact introduction on how to deal with focuses.

But at least I seem to have got the concept of focuses right… Coming from DnD there isn’t such a degree of freedom when creating the characters. I like that very much…