Any tips for a first time STA GM?

Recently got the core book and have started reading through it. I’ve gone through the quick start to get a rough idea of the 2d20 system. I’ve run Pathfinder, Coriollis, and Exalted 1 and 2 for decently long campaigns but I am new to 2d20. Any tips for kicking off a good run of a 2d20 game STA in particular?

If all goes well I may expand out into a couple other 2d20 games but after looking over most of the quick starts STA seemed to be the simplest to get in to. Less gear, no hit location etc. Thanks for any tips/suggestions!

1 Like

Welcome aboard.
For general suggestions I’ve got the below:

• Encourage use of Momentum & Threat. It can give your players an edge and allow you to bring in changes to scenes and enemies to help up the tension and challenge.
  • STA leans to your characters playing heroes (Unless you playing Klingons, in which case you are more violent heroes), run with this. The characters from the TV series are larger then life and so are your player characters.
  • Don’t worry too much about spaceship combat at first. Once you are comfortable with the rules you can add them in, but that is probably the most complex element of STA.
  • Have a discussion with your players about the sort of game they want. 2d20 can go in many directions, especially STA which can draw from TOS, TNG, Voyager, DS9, Discovery & Picard (In roughly decreasing value of heroics) A game based on TNG will be radically different to one following DS9 for instance.
  • Ask questions on the forums. There are loads of people here who know pretty much everything. So we can normally come up with an answer or 4 for anything you have.
7 Likes

Start with the basics and work from there. Theres a lot of depth in the system, but you can get by without a lot of it while you get comfortable.

Beyond that, make use of the starter set/crb adventure etc that are designed to help you learn the game.