Session 0.5 The Battle of Wolf 359

Hi everyone, I’m new to GMing and only decided to do it because I couldn’t stomach the idea of spending $700 on the Borg cube edition of STA and NOT playing it. My idea is to run my players through a mini adventure immediately after session zero. Since my players all rank high in their areas: Captain, First officer, Chief Engineer, Chief Medical officer and Chief of Security I want to show how they were promoted to those positions. My plan is to start them in the middle of the battle of Wolf 359. They would all start on separate ships. As I understand it only one ship survived the battle so each player would replace the person in charge of their section as they are killed off. They would all escape to the barely surviving ship with battlefield promotions. This would explain how they all came together and share a similar backstory.

So my questions are: Am I missing anything that might trip me up here?
Is there a Wolf 359 adventure already prepared?
Where can I find more resources on the battle of Wolf 359?

Sisko was on USS Saratoga and lost his wife here. Rescuing a major figure in an hard time can be cool.

2 Likes

It depends. Personally, I’d actually have them from the same ship. It was a traumatic experience, which makes having them all together as the full senior staff on a ship jihgly unlikely. They’d have all been traumatised by the Borg, which would be a a common weak spot. If they were on the same ship, you could argue that Starfleet would see that they had formed a tight mutual support network, and breaking that apart might do them more harm than good, so they were kept together and put on to a new ship in the hope that theyll keep each other strong (or alternatively, they replace the senior staff of an old ship who merited a nice shiny new ship).

Ultimately though, it’s not your game, do what makes sense for you. It’s not a big enough deal that I would be put off playing that game either way. Just a thought.