Power armor and cover

Was reading core rules and FAQ and actually saw that
Does that mean, that PA can’t benefit from cover? As a cover obviously not a PA mod.
Initial rules mention items, so I don’t exclude that this is just bad wording and the whole idea was to not allow PA to benefit from toughness, refractor, lone wanderer etc.

Or It’s really the idea, that PA can’t benefit from any additional armour? (As It’s literally what It says. And I’d say it makes sense, you’re a walking tank, what kind of cover are you talking about)

(First passage from the most recent FAQ)

(The passage below is from core rules)

The FAQ is correct. Armor Ratings of Power Armor models will not increase unless changed by a mod.