I have a question and would love any advice.
The rules on page 170 of the rulebook make it clear that you can use a simple action to focus for a spell, then you use a standard action to cast the spell.
But then it gets really confusing, suggesting that the one standard action won’t be enough. It says that “the spell creates an effect that the sorcerer can attempt to use, but actually using that effect requires other actions and other skills” and talks about using fortune or momentum (presumably 2 momentum i.e. full Swift Action) if you want the spell to “use its effects” in the same turn you cast it via a second standard action.
Does anyone understand the difference between “creates an effect” and “using that affect”? I’m mystified.
For example, if I cast Haunt The Mind to create a swarm of stinging illusory bees for a few turns, in which standard action does my adversary see and potentially believe the bees? And in which standard action can I try to do damage with them?
I’ve tried to get answers on the FAQs and Facebook etc, but it’s a confusing maze. For example, the FAQ section on the Dismember spell implies that the attack happens in the standard action that you cast it, so is Dismember a unique rule exception?: “Q. What is the procedure for Dismember? A. Caster rolls a sorcery test. This can be resisted (see above) Momentum is used to craft damage. Damage is rolled. Soak is calculated, Damage is recorded. This all happens in the same standard action.”
It’s different to how I would have done it, based on my reading of the rules. I’d probably (after focusing) use one standard action to ‘create’ the Dismember spell (finding out how powerful a job I did of it, with momentum etc) then use my next standard action to ‘ranged attack’ with it (potentially adding further damage if I roll momentum). It’s not that I prefer doing it this way - it just seems to be what the rules imply.
I would be really, really grateful if anyone can explain it to me. Or, better still, if you’ve seen any official rewording of those two or three confusing paragraphs in the rulebook.
I’ve only GM’d Conan 2D20 once and my second session will be in a week’s time, and a big baddie is a sorcerer. I also have a player who may be interested in sorcery.
(And thanks to Keith Johnson on Facebook for his valiant effort at trying to help me understand yesterday and today).