- Is there a Solo mode? Yes. Players who play solo, can either decide to play with one character, following the specific Solo rules provided or to play with more than one character.
- May I play the campaigns/chapters in any order I prefer? Yes. However, starting the game from a chapter two or three of a campaign will result in a very difficult challenge.
- One of the players I started playing the campaign with cannot attend the next session. Is it possible to “freeze” his character for the session and keep on playing? Unfortunately, no. The game is structured so that the number of players affects some setup requirements, therefore changing the number of players could result in the chapter not being finished. In that situation, we recommend asking the other players to use their character cooperatively.
- I have The Elder Scrolls: Call to Arms and a lot of Nord minis. Can we play with more than one character of the same type? The game was created with the idea of each player with a different character type. Although it’s not forbidden to play with more than one character of the same type, the players will have to share the character card of that specific type as reference.
- When taking threat from an event, does the Starting player have to assign it to their own cards? No. Unless specifically stated, Threat can be assigned freely among all players or the Stronghold Chart, with no requirement from the Starting player to assign any of it to their own cards.
- I have four World Quests already in play and I draw another one, which one do I need to fail? The players may choose which World Quest to fail.
- An event requires to move a Roaming monster token toward its closest Stronghold, but there are two eligible. Which one should I choose? Also, if more than one route is available, how do I choose one? In both cases the Starting player has the final word on the target and path of the Roaming monster token.
- When moving the Player figures, is there a specific order in which this must be completed? No. All movement occurs at the same time and the players can organise it as they prefer.
- Can I move before or after using a carriage (paying for moving from one Stronghold to another)? No. Players must start and end their movement phase in Strongholds when using a carriage, and may not use any movement points during the Movement phase.
- A Roaming monster moved onto my space during the event phase, may I still move away from it? No. Unless specified in the scenario rules, when on the same space of a Roaming monster token, the players must spend their Turn action fighting the enemy.
- Is there a specific order to resolve the action phase? Yes, the Starting player is the first to act and the phase continues clockwise. The only exception is when more than one player is exploring a dungeon. In this case the action phase of all players involved will be resolved at the same time, whenever it’s the turn of the first player in clockwise order. Experienced players, however, can sometimes overlap their action resolution to increase the pace of the game.
- How many actions can I take in a Stronghold? Each player can take one main action — resolving a City Card or completing a quest — and then they can visit the market. Visiting the market allows the players to sell and buy, craft, upgrade and/or enchant their equipment.
- What about alchemy? Can I craft potions? Players have the chance to craft Health, Stamina or Magicka potions in any Stronghold using Plant components. Furthermore when using a potion in Combat they will have to spend further plant components. This is the way that the game simulates the alchemy skill; in a way, it’s like crafting potions on the fly.
- Can I explore a Wilderness or Stronghold to meet a NPC even if I already have two Personal Quests? Yes. Players can still meet NPC and take advantage of the free component and the skill test on the card. Then, instead of removing the card from the game to gain a Personal Quest, they will discard it on the City or Wilderness discard pile. That card will be eventually reshuffled in the deck and available in the future to be encountered again.
- During this turn, another player already explored the same type of dungeon I want to explore. Would the Dungeon Decks be restored before I start my action? No. The dungeon decks are restored at the end of the whole Game Turn, therefore if several players explore different dungeons of the same type in a turn, these will become increasingly harder.
- When exploring a Dungeon, what’s the difference between escaping after an Encounter and escaping during Combat? If one or more players decide to leave the dungeon in between encounters (i.e. if there’s no face-up card in the dungeon) there’s no penalty for this decision. However, if a player escapes during Combat, they will have to assign a threat token to one of their cards or to the Stronghold chart.
- Is there a specific turn order players have to follow when involved in Combat together? No. Players are free to strategize and choose their combat order. After each player takes their Combat Round, they must turn their Character card upside down, and cannot act again until their Character card is turned back into its original position. Whenever all Character cards are turned upside down, all players may turn them back into their original position
- I have equipped a Heavy Armor and a dagger. May I sneak? No. Having a heavy Armor equipped prevents a character from using Sneak actions in combat. Similarly, players cannot Sneak using a Spell. If the player had a Spell and a dagger equipped, for example, they would be able to Sneak, but only using the dagger.
- If I have a Heavy Armor equipped, would I automatically fail a Sneak skill test out of Combat? No. The rules regarding Heavy Armor and Sneak only apply in Combat.
- What happens if I enchant my heavy armor with a Muffle enchantment? The Muffle enchantment doesn’t give the ability to Sneak with Heavy Armor. If you draw a Muffle Enchantment when Enchanting a Heavy Armor, it’s recommended to spend an additional Soul Gem to draw a new Enchantment card.
- I have equipment and skill that give me a total value of Sneak equal to two, does this mean I roll two dice when rolling Sneak skill tests out of Combat? No. The players roll a total of their Sneak value plus three dice. Sneak is considered a Skill test and therefore there is a base of three dice for the roll. However, players who seek a more challenging experience may decide to remove the starting three dice from Sneak rolls, as indicated in the rules.
- Does this mean that I can sneak with three dice if I don’t have any sneak value? Yes. You would only roll 3 dice, but it’s sometimes worth a try.
- If I am dealing a Heavy Damage to an enemy and they have both Heavy and Light Armor, may I choose to assign the damage to the Light armor? No. The damage must be assigned to corresponding Armor. Only if there is no corresponding Armor, the players can choose where to assign the damage.
- If one of my weapon’s attacks deals more than one damage type, may I apply both? No. The players have to choose which one type of damage to apply.
- If one of the enemy attacks deals more than one type of damage, may I choose which one of my armor will absorb it? No, enemy attacks must be assigned so that they deal the maximum damage possible.
- I have no more Stamina or Magicka, can I still perform attacks and or Push? Yes. However, every point of Stamina or Magicka needed for the attack or Push, will have to be substituted with a point of Health.
- If I wield two weapons or spells, may I perform two attacks? No. Players will have to choose which weapon/spell to use. The advantage in having two weapons resides in the increased possibilities to strategise.
- Can I level up during the Combat to recover my Health, Stamina and Magicka? No. Levelling up must be performed at the end of the Game Turn.
- When fighting more than one enemy, may I choose which one to attack? No. The attack must be performed against the leftmost enemy. When the players are required to fight multiple enemies “in a single encounter” they have to draw the cards and arrange them in the order provided by the text. For example if the card ask to “clear 501, 502 and 504 in a single encounter”, the players will arrange the card in that specific order, with 501 being the leftmost and 504 the rightmost.
End of Round
- Do I have to level up? Yes. If the players have enough XP at the end of the round, they must level up their characters and cannot gain any XP over the amount needed to level up.