Hello community, new user reporting for duty here.
I have problems with the “Devastating Attack” option (Page 307), and it does feel a little off. It says: Roll an additional system; that system suffers a hit dealing half the attack’s damage, rounding up.
Questions:
- Is it half of the damage after the Resistance is deducted?
- It seems that It would do no effect if the Hit has not caused a Breach in the first place (as no systems are damaged), and even then only would do something if the attack is hard enough to overcome the Resistance after being halved.
I have the feeling that this feature was being designed forthe 1st edition of the game, but makes no sense after combat got changed at some point on 2nd edition.
Thank you!
Wow: 47 views, and still no comments regarding this.
Can someone from Modiphius staff please clear this question?
Thank you!
There are 3 posts about it in the Modiphius discord. The only thread that has staff says:
Edit: for reference, Devastating Attack allows an extra hit to a random system for half damage. Resistance applies as normal to that hit, and if you get multiple, it applies separately to each. It’s a potent effect, yes, but still fairly circumstantial.
The other 2 get into more nitty-gritty and are more relevant to your question, since the response above was for whether Devastating Attack is repeatable.
Thank you, I would appreciate if you could please paste the entries in Discord, so everyone can read what the Modiphius staff has to say about this.
I still believe it is a bug from the 1st Ed, and they are tying to make it work somehow (as the text block made it to the 2nd ed).
If you want Modiphius staff specifically, uh… that’s it. What I posted is pretty much it, but I will include the sentence before the edit:
Modiphius - Nathan Dowdell — 11/27/2024 16:51
Devastating Attack is not normally repeatable. It becomes repeatable when the attacking weapon has Spread.
Edit: for reference, Devastating Attack allows an extra hit to a random system for half damage. Resistance applies as normal to that hit, and if you get multiple, it applies separately to each. It’s a potent effect, yes, but still fairly circumstantial.
The thread also included this post regarding an issue with resistance leaving a minimum of 1 damage:
Modiphius - Nathan Dowdell — 12/19/2024 12:42
No, there’s no errata to resolve this. While it hasn’t been included in any official publication yet, the intent is that larger vessels (or otherwise extra-tough ones) like Borg Cubes may have rules that alter the way they take damage, but we didn’t really have the space to include Borg in the corebook this time around.
I can also provide more copy/pastes of the conversation, but those are the only staff posts that I can find.