Modiphius.com  |  Modiphius Shop

Assassin Talent question?

Assassin Talent:

“you may spend 2 points of Momentum in order to count every die in the pool as an Effect, instead of whatever was actually rolled”

Ok so lets assume I roll 1,2,2,4 and use the Assassin talent with a weapon that has hidden and vicious 1.

Do I do

9 dmg (1+2+2+4 vicious)

4 dmg (4 vicious)

8 dmg (1+1+1+1+4 vicious)

Thanks

It would be the 9 damage. The 4 counts as 0 for the roll but will count as 1 damage for the effect.

2 Likes

The wording of the Assassin talent is:

When rolling damage with a melee weapon that has the Hidden Quality, you may spend 2 points of Momentum in order to count every die in the pool as an Effect, instead of whatever was actually rolled.

Reading it as it is written, each die is considered Effect (1 damage + Effect). The key word is instead. The description also does not allow to pick which dice to be considered effects and which to remain as damage.

Therefore from the example with the 4 dice weapon with Hidden 1 and Vicious 1, the damage will be
1+1+1+1+4(Vicious). Total of 8.

1 Like

According to the rulebook, a 5 or 6 rolled is “1 + Effect”, not just an Effect. So according to this interpretation, counting every die as an “Effect”, the damage would be:

0+0+0+0+4 (total 4)

This would be strictly according to the wording of the talent and the die results.

Personally however, I’d go with @Valyar’s interpretation because it makes the most sense. It’s also the more fun than the strict interpretation and when in doubt, choose the option that is most fun.

3 Likes

Come to think of it, I agree with Valyar.

So what you are saying, you can spend 2 momentum from the group pool and not have to roll?

@Shran No. According to the book 100% as RAW:

“Results of 5 or 6 are referred to as Effects. Specially-made Conan Combat Dice replace the
1 and 2 sides with success icons, and the Phoenix icon for the 5 and 6 faces, with the 3 and 4 faces left blank. An Effect adds 1 to the total, and also triggers certain abilities, such as weapon Qualities and other special conditions.” - Page 93.

IE the effect gives 1 damage not the die is 1 damage and it causes the effect. You are referring to the table which is strictly showing how much damage is done, simply writing effect there would be confusing. The rules are crystal clear in the text though. 5 or 6 = an effect. an effect = 1 damage+triggering effects.

So @Valyar is IMHO correct. All dice become an effect. If it had Vicious and you rolled 4cd you end up with 2 points of damage per die and 8 total damage.

@Stokar But you never have to choose to spend till after you roll. On a roll of 1,5,5,2 you already do 7 damage. Spending 2 points of momentum is a waste. There is no reason to NOT roll.

Indeed, this is correct. I was referencing the table where it says “5, 6 | 1, plus an Effect”. So the 5 and 6 face of a die is called “Effect”, deals 1 damage and triggers “Effects”. A little confusing in the table, but as I said earlier, the Talent only makes sense with @Valyar’s interpretation which seems the correct one.

3 Likes

According to Page 93 Paragraph 7 , [ogedei] expleined it correctly , you cannot just go by the table as it may be confusing without the paragraph to explain it. “Results of 5 or 6 are referred to as
Effects.” “An Effect adds 1 to the total, and also triggers certain abilities, such as weapon Qualities and other special conditions.”

SO with certain Mercenary named Saltheart ;^)…If you have a 3d6 Ghanata (vicious1) knife Plus 2d6 for your strength bonus and Plus 1d6 for Death Dealer Talent. That makes your attack with this Ghanata(viscious1) knife 6d6.
E = 1+effect = 2dmg (if effect is Vicious)

E+E+E+E+E+E = 12

If you then also have the Anatomist Talent which gives you a +1 Vicious quality to your melee attacks that would be 3 dmg per die.

How can anyone be playing D&D anymore. nothing compares to the greatness of this game!

2 Likes