"Persuading" the PCs into interesting choices

This is my maiden post here. I’m new to 2d20 Conan but an old hand at forcing players to make interesting choices. I have a question about how to mechanically supplement a Persuade attempt by NPCs.

How does Persuade work against PCs to force them to take a course of action?

My idea for a scenario is that the party has stumbled upon a village in the Cimmerian Highlands that is being raided by Hyperboreans. After fighting off the raid they learn that the village has lost all their men to war and only women remain. Due to a storm they are snowbound for a period and the womenfolk take the opportunity to use Feminine Wiles to Persuade the heroes to stay long enough to protect them from the overwhelming raid that is sure to come once the storm lifts.

How can I use “feminine wiles” and the game’s mechanics to up the ante of this dilemma? The coming raid is overwhelming (nevermind how they know). The party has an important job to do elsewhere that doesn’t involve dying for a lost cause.

Can the women make a “mental attack” where the damage is somehow conditional? If the heroes abandon the women they suffer Trauma. If they stay and fight they risk death and the abandonment of their duties.

I know that good RPers will probably play along. But I want to see if I can use the mechanics to add that extra “oomph” to really twist the knife and make it a tough choice.

Thoughts?

I guess what I’m asking is how do you stat out a damsel in distress?

My game is rated M for Manly. No apologies.

2 Likes

In Conan, this is not supported by the rules. - The Infinity 2d20 RPG does indeed have such a thing as social combat that allows PCs getting “socially damaged” into being forced to perform certain actions.

You can, of course, use the Threaten attack mechanics to do the same in Conan. You probably could add the Intense quality to such an attack to cause another Trauma, if it caused at least one Trauma.

But.