Counting Shots Option

Im new to the system but a 40 year veteran RPGr. Im wondering about the abstract handling of ammo. Counting arrows in a quiver has never been a bother so im wondering just what the advantage here is during play? Also, such an abstraction would seem to really bring up problems at the table.

Consider a character who makes his way to a good vantage point to provide overwatch for his comrades as they engage some guards. He gets there, rolls a complication and the GM announces he is out of ammo. Really? Would he have even gone up there if he knew he was low on arrows? Not to mention the idea that a single LOAD of arrows can last for days of adventuring but suddenly vanish in a single turn of frantic Volley fire. I just see my players balking hard at some of this.

Does anyone simply count arrows and assign Volley fire a number like 4 or 5 or something? Would such a move have effects elsewhere in the game Im not aware of?

1 Like

As you get to the top of the overwatch you stumble and the arrows in your quiver spill out and down the rock face, breaking and becoming irretrievable.

No I don’t count arrows. Complications should make sense to what is happening.

As would firing a brand new full quiver to empty in a single turn of a few seconds.

Well, you could allways cound a load as 5 arrows (to make it easy and fast when counting arrows).
I dont see that as something bad.
Also you should allow the player to see if some arrows can be re-used after combat (dont be too generous with this, since there are a Talent for that in Brigand if my memory serves me right now).

Solution to your problem, maybe:
Your main issue is the idea of Loads and how abstract they are for combat. I personally have never minded the idea of Loads for Throwing knives and arrows, but if you want to get right in there and say that a Volley is a about a third of the maximum arrows they can carry within that quiver, that should work just fine.