A question on difficulty rating

I’m new to this system and still trying to get the rules beneath me. Should I let the players know what the difficulty rating is before they roll or is that GM only knowledge.

So if my players need to jump a gap between two rivers and I decide it’s a D3 test should I tell them they need three successes

Yes, you should tell them. Otherwise it is very unfair, because players can spend Momentum to add extra d20s to improve their chances of success. If they don’t know the Difficulty beforehand, that makes it really not fun.

Knowing the Difficulty of a particular task is basically character knowledge. The character knows if jumping a gap is easy (Difficulty 0) or daunting (Difficulty 3).

As a GM, you still have secrets from the players. For example, you can keep the size of your Doom pool to yourself, so players tend to be cautious in adding more Doom.

I think that in all 2d20 games the GM is supposed to tell the difficulty to the players, so they can choose if they want to buy extra dice or spend Momentum. The whole Momentum/ Fortune/ Doom thing must be based on knowledge or it will not work out as planned.

It´s different.

I have got an issue: Players used Momentum and generate more Momentum after them. In this way it was too easy to win all fights and checks, in particular against npc of Minion level. At first it sounds well for players, but after a short time, they were bored. Because of them I decided, that they have to reduce the Momentum in amount of set Momentum before.

In some cases, they shouldn´t see the results or strenght of NPC, when they are in struggle with them.

Otherwise my group members loose tention.