Tokens (Momentum/Doom) question

I am new to Conan, books arriving today and have a little knowledge of the 2D20 system from watching games on Star Trek on Twitch.
I assume the Momentum and Threat (Doom?) mechanic are the same across multiple Modiphius systems?

If so, what would a good number of tokens be to represent each?
What do people use in Conan or other tittles to keep track?
I am looking at making some from wood instead of simple poker chips or dice with appropriate symbols burned in.
All suggestions are welcome as they may fuel better ideas.
Thanks

I use poker chips. Green for Momentum, Red for Doom. Cheap and they work great. I use Yellow for Fortune points as well.

1 Like

My group plays online so we just use images in Roll20 (what roll20 calls cards). I think there have been times were there were up to 7 momentum in the pool but it tends to get used up quickly, so 10 momentum tokens would likely suffice. Doom has gone as high as 24. That was an unusual spike on account of a player using sorcery and ‘casting for consequence’. If you are making your own, make some tokens worth 2-5 doom to allow yourself some headroom.

1 Like

We use go stones, slate for Doom and sea shell for Momentum. About number, last time with one player, I peaked as 15, while some weeks ago I only went to about 6 with two players. Ultimately it is up to you to decide if you spend some with regularity or if you bank most of it for the final encounter (encouraging overconfidence in your players, which they soon discover to be a slow and insidious killer).

Max momentum that can be saved in the pool is 6. Doom is unlimited.

if max Momentum is 6 how do some groups get up to 24 momentum? Is there a personal or group pool limit difference?

Page 102 of the core rules.

No more than six points of Momentum may be saved in this pool at any time. Any points of excess Momentum in the group pool are discarded.