Powerful PCs and weak NPCs, take three

I’ve read the other two megathreads on how to deal with powerful PCs twice. We’re four adventures into the campaign, the PCs have barely had any upgrades, and they just shred through anything I throw at them. I’m a veteran GM and play with seasoned players, so we’re unlikely to be playing wrong. NPCs don’t challenge, not even the most powerful Nemeses with their own Doom pool and an army of Minions.

I just ran the climactic battle on The Ghost of Thunder River in Jeweled Thrones of the Earth (spoilers ahead). I threw nearly 30 Doom points at the 3-4 PC group, but they hardly got any hits - and not a single Harm. I summoned three Squads, but they were mostly mowed down before they could even act. Positioned them so the PCs can’t get directly to the Nemesis, so they just killed them all.

I even homebrewed the rules so that I could summon Doom spend NPCs and act in the same round so at least they would be able to get one action, but that was not nearly enough. We have homebrewed that a second reaction takes 2 Doom, third 3 Doom - but PCs don’t care as they have by now learned that no matter how much Doom I have, they won’t be touched.

The most broken rule in the game is sacrificing armor. Any armor. For any amount of damage. Like, really?!?!? I had one PC who had literally one piece of armor intact after the battle. Sure, he got lucky, but it’s just a ridiculous proposition that you can negate two or three Wounds by sacrificing armor. And next adventure he’ll be back in full gear, so there was no challenge, no character growth. They were given advice to other players that “just charge in, you’ll be able to sacrifice armor” when they were figuring out how to get to the Nemesis. Such a scary boss :frowning: