Guard Condition

Hi all, I’m new to Conan and the 2d20 system. I’m a bit confused about ‘guarding’, how it works and is activated and its effects. Can’t seem to wrap my head around it. If someone could explain it to me that would be great, sorry if I seem a bit dense.
Thanks

Guard is a status that you just have during combat. It is not activated. It basically means that you are prepared for a fight. In most cases, you (and enemies) have Guard automatically.

There are Momentum spends which can make you (or an opponent) lose Guard. This means you/they are distracted somehow. You can regain your Guard again as a Minor Action.

The effects of Guard are relevant to melee combat. When attacking in melee, you always compare the Reach values of your and your opponent’s melee weapon (usually a value between 1 and 3).

If your opponent has Guard, a long weapon is beneficial for them because attacks with shorter weapons are more difficult against longer weapons (e.g. dagger vs. spear). However, if your opponent has lost Guard, shorter weapons suddenly are better because they gain additional d20s.

In numbers:

• Defender has Guard: +1 melee attack Difficulty for every point of Reach the attacker’s weapon is shorter
  • Defender has no Guard: +1d20 on melee attack for every point of Reach the attacker’s weapon is shorter

I hope this clears it up.

3 Likes

Thanks very much, totally clear and kind of obvious now I’ve read your reply. Much appreciated.

Sarge, i had the exact same question. So it wasn’t super clear from the book. The reply does confirm what i thought.
Well explained.

I’m just reading the rules before playing next month so I’ve not played yet. But is seems very expensive. 2 momentum to drop a guard which is just one minor action to recover. I suppose it could work with teamwork. But even still 2 momentum seems a lot.

Do griblies have guard?

1 Like