Character flaws

I’m in the process of putting together a new game, and was looking for a little advice. A key part of the premise being that each character needs to posses some form of deep seeded flaw.

This specifically isn’t going to be a Starfleet ship, and these aren’t going to be people who have chosen to come together. I guess examples would be Lost or The Expanse. In theory this could be a really fun set up, but my relative inexperience as a GM in general is showing a little here, and I want to make sure I set up a good foundation.

Does anyone have any advice or useful reading on helping my players develop these kind of characters? Or any generally useful advice for building such a game?

I’ve been running the game for almost 3 years now, and I’m confident mechanically, but this set up is definitely a bit outside my comfort zone!

There are no rules for that in STA, but JCoM has rules for flaws. In short a character looses Momentum if the Flaw comes to effect or the character has to pay Momentum to prevent something happening because of the Flaw.

1 Like

You could build it into the Values system. They’d have to define one value to cover the flaw - and then you’d enforce its use in play.

2 Likes

You don’t necessarily have to do anything mechanical; just let it be part of the role playing. Look at the DS9 cast, for example. They all have character flaws that aren’t reflected on their stats. Bashir is kind of a jerk for the first season or so and of course there’s the genetic engineering. Major Kira is short tempered and has skeletons in her closet. Dad has some deep seated confidence issues relating to how Jadzia became a host that crop up occasionally, and also various situations from past hosts that she has to struggle with. Etc.

2 Likes

There are rules for it, it 100% should be part of the values system. I’m more after general role play GMing advice than mechanical to be honest